Appen

A training-data vendor whose crowd records custom image, video and audio collections, remote or on-site.

No public API listed

Mode
Made to order · Speed not stated
Coverage
500+ locales
Price
On request
Key
Not needed
Resale
Not stated
AI training
Not stated

Eight links

1 of 8 links claimed · 0 evidenced

Compiled from public sources, unclaimed. What they mean

Each link
  1. 1. Real personClaimed

    Person · Claimed. Contributors join through CrowdGen, Appen's contributor platform, where applicants must 'apply & get verified'; most projects add a qualification process.

    Still open: What 'verified' checks (identity document, residency or only skills) is not described, and nothing ties a delivered capture to a verified person. CrowdGen's page describes the verification step as an experience review ('Tell us about your experience'); no identity document or liveness check is named.

  2. 2. Captured locallyNot stated

    Camera · Not stated

    Still open: No check against imported, re-captured or generated media is described.

    Place · Not stated

    Still open: Location data is a collection type, but no method for verifying where an image or video was taken is documented. The Appen Mobile app's App Store privacy label lists only photos, videos and audio, not location.

  3. 3. Genuine deviceNot stated

    App · Not stated

    Still open: Remote collection runs on Appen's own platform and the Appen Mobile app, but no app or device integrity checks are documented.

  4. 4. Sealed captureNot stated

    Camera · Not stated

    Still open: No check against imported, re-captured or generated media is described.

    Content · Not stated

    Still open: Quality controls described (gold test questions, smart validators, multi-stage review on the annotation platform; 'data abnormality detection' in a 2019 blog) apply to labeling. No review method for collected media is described.

  5. 5. Known timestampNot stated

    Time · Not stated

    Still open: No trusted capture time is documented.

  6. 6. Tracked in transitNot stated

    Custody record (optional field) · Not stated

  7. 7. Independently verifiedNot stated

    Cross-check · Not stated

    Still open: No independent cross-check is described.

  8. 8. Delivered to youNot stated

    Delivery receipt (optional field) · Not stated

API

Needs a sales or approval step first.

No public API listed.

Rate limit. Not applicable; collections are ordered through sales.

Sources

11 sources
  1. Remote collections on a proprietary multi-device platform at home or in public (image, video, speech, audio, text, location); supervised on-site sessions at facilities, customer sites, studios, rented homes, in-car across multiple countries; AR/VR glasses, wearables, smart-home devices; location and POI data; 500+ locales; 360+ off-the-shelf datasets in 80+ languages; SOC 2 and ISO 27001; 'Talk to an expert', no pricing www.appen.com
  2. 'we can deploy our global crowd of workers to collect image and video data using our mobile recording tools'; 'Data abnormality detection' listed among labeling quality components (post dated April 2019) www.appen.com
  3. 'a global crowd of over 1 million skilled contractors'; 235+ languages; 500+ global locales www.appen.com
  4. CrowdGen is Appen's contributor platform; 'Apply & get verified'; qualification process on most projects; 500,000+ contributors paid crowdgen.com
  5. Appen Mobile app (Appen Pty. Ltd.): tasks include 'taking pictures of objects, taking videos or recording audio'; privacy label lists photos, videos and audio only apps.apple.com
  6. Annotation platform (ADAP): access via 'Talk to our team'; gold test questions, smart validators, multi-stage review; API and webhooks www.appen.com
  7. ADAP REST API: base https://api.appen.com/, 'Authorization: Token token=<key>'; create-job supports WORK and QA types only; DATA_COLLECTION job type exists developer.appen.com
  8. Legal policies page lists no customer terms of service www.appen.com
  9. SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001:2013, HIPAA, GDPR; secure facilities; no customer data ownership or training terms www.appen.com
  10. Contributor posting (2022 repost of Appen text): survey and data collection projects last 15 minutes to three hours; qualification exams; some assignments need specific mobile devices www.concordia.edu.ua
  11. CrowdGen sign-up: 'Apply & get verified. Tell us about your experience.' crowdgen.com
Notes

About. AI training-data vendor that runs custom data collections with its contributor crowd (CrowdGen): remote collections where contributors capture image, video, audio and location data at home or in public on Appen's multi-device platform and the Appen Mobile app, and supervised on-site sessions (facilities, customer sites, studios, rented homes, in-car, AR/VR glasses and wearables). Sales-led; no ordering API for collections.

Price. from_usd 0 means unknown, not free. The data collection page routes to 'Talk to an expert'; no prices are published.

Coverage. Appen cites 500+ global locales, 235+ languages and a crowd of over one million contractors; its contributor site says 500,000+ contributors have been paid. On-site sessions run 'across multiple countries'. Which countries have image/video collectors is not published.

Timing. No turnaround published.

Licence. Not stated publicly. Appen publishes no customer terms of service on appen.com (its legal-policies page lists only privacy, cookie, ethical-sourcing, whistleblower, anti-corruption and scam pages); terms are set in a sales contract. Ownership, resale and AI-training rights for custom collections, and whether Appen reuses customer data, were not found. Appen cites SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA and GDPR compliance.

Compiled from public sources. Is this your company? Publish your card ›

Compiled from public sources · updated 2026-10-28JSONSiteCompare