GeoNet (New Zealand earthquakes and volcanoes)
New Zealand earthquakes and volcano alert levels; free, keyless.
Self-serve API, no key, irlpls adapter · docs
- Mode
- Live · minutes
- Coverage
- New Zealand and its surrounding region
- Price
- Free
- Key
- Not needed
- Resale
- Not stated
- AI training
- Not stated
Eight links
0 of 8 links claimed · 0 evidenced
Compiled from public sources, unclaimed. What they mean
Each link
- 1. Real personNot stated
Person · Not stated
Still open: Automated networks; no person's identity is attested for a reading, though GeoNet staff can review quakes (not documented on the pages read).
- 2. Captured locallyNot stated
Camera · Not stated
Still open: Not a camera source in this API.
Place · Claimed. Each quake has coordinates, depth and a nearest-locality label.
Still open: Hypocentres are GeoNet's own estimates and unsigned.
Needs both: the weaker one counts.
- 3. Genuine deviceNot stated
App · Not stated
Still open: No signing or attestation of data is documented.
- 4. Sealed captureNot stated
Camera · Not stated
Still open: Not a camera source in this API.
Content · Claimed. Each quake carries a 'quality' field (documented values: best, preliminary, automatic, deleted) and a magnitude and MMI.
Still open: The docs list the quality values but do not define them; automatic and reviewed solutions both exist and the disclaimer gives no accuracy warranty.
Counts only with a stated signing mechanism (C2PA, a manifest).
- 5. Known timestampReported
Time · Claimed. Each quake carries an ISO 8601 origin time in UTC.
Still open: Origin times are GeoNet's own computed values and unsigned; revisions can change them.
A time stated, not attested (RFC 3161, a log): Reported.
- 6. Tracked in transitNot stated
Custody record (optional field) · Not stated
- 7. Independently verifiedNot stated
Cross-check · Not stated
Still open: Nothing independent is attached to individual quakes in the API response.
- 8. Delivered to youNot stated
Delivery receipt (optional field) · Not stated
API
No account or key needed.
- base
- https:/
/ api.geonet.org.nz - auth
- No key
- access
- Self-serve
- adapter
geonet_nz
- GET /
quake - GET /
quake/ {publicID} - GET /
quake/ stats - GET /
volcano/ val - GET /
volcano/ quake/ {volcanoID} - GET /
intensity - +2 more in the JSON
Rate limit. None stated on the API page.
Sources
5 sources
- API endpoints list, freely available data, CC BY 3.0 NZ copyright line, Accept-header versioning, gzip api.geonet.org.nz
- Live GET /quake?MMI=3 (100 features, publicID/time/depth/magnitude/mmi/locality/quality; cache-control max-age=10; CORS *) api.geonet.org.nz
- Disclaimer: no warranties of accuracy, completeness or timeliness; liability excluded; information freely available subject to terms; CC BY 3.0 NZ www.geonet.org.nz
- Data policy: acknowledge GeoNet and sponsors; cite DOIs www.geonet.org.nz
- Quake quality values: best, preliminary, automatic, deleted api.geonet.org.nz
Notes
About. GeoNet, run by Earth Sciences New Zealand and funded by the NZ Government, serves its data through the keyless api.geonet.org.nz: recent earthquakes filtered by shaking intensity (MMI), single-quake detail and history, quake statistics, Volcanic Alert Levels, volcano quakes, and network station and sensor metadata. Responses are GeoJSON or JSON.
Price. Page states: "The GeoNet project makes all its data and images freely available." No registration or key is mentioned.
Coverage. The live quake list contained New Zealand localities (e.g. Kaikoura, Taihape). The exact monitored area is not stated on the API page.
Timing. Page: "The data provided here is used for the GeoNet web site and other similar services." No latency is stated; responses are cached 10 s (cache-control max-age=10).
Licence. GeoNet page: "GeoNet content is copyright Earth Sciences New Zealand" and "licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 New Zealand License." The Data Policy asks users to acknowledge the GeoNet programme and sponsors and to cite dataset DOIs where one exists. The disclaimer says the information is provided without warranties of any kind, including accuracy, completeness and timeliness, and liability is excluded. The terms do not mention AI training or resale.
Compiled from public sources. Is this your company? Publish your card ›
Compiled from public sources · updated 2026-10-28JSONSiteCompare