Environment Agency real-time flood-monitoring API
England's river, groundwater and rain gauges, UK tide gauges and live flood warnings. Free, no key.
Self-serve API, no key, irlpls adapter · docs
- Mode
- Live · minutes
- Coverage
- England, UK coast
- Price
- Free
- Key
- Not needed
- Resale
- Not stated
- AI training
- Not stated
Eight links
0 of 8 links claimed · 0 evidenced
Compiled from public sources, unclaimed. What they mean
Each link
- 1. Real personNot stated
Person · Not stated
Still open: Not applicable: readings come from automated Environment Agency gauges, not from people.
- 2. Captured locallyNot stated
Camera · Not stated
Still open: Not a camera source.
Place · Claimed. Fixed stations with published WGS84 lat/long, British National Grid easting/northing and grid reference.
Still open: Coordinates are the Agency's own records, not independently checked. Rain gauge locations are deliberately rounded to a 100 m grid.
Needs both: the weaker one counts.
- 3. Genuine deviceNot stated
App · Not stated
Still open: No signing or attestation of readings from gauge to API; integrity rests on the Agency operating the network.
- 4. Sealed captureNot stated
Camera · Not stated
Still open: Not a camera source.
Content · Claimed. Each measure states parameter, qualifier, unit and datum (mAOD, mASD or m) and value type (instantaneous, mean, total, maximum, minimum); stations publish typical range and records.
Still open: Beta service with no guarantee of service level; the Agency says it should not be relied on for safety-critical uses. No quality flags are published per reading, and NaN values are simply omitted from JSON.
Counts only with a stated signing mechanism (C2PA, a manifest).
- 5. Known timestampReported
Time · Claimed. Each reading carries a dateTime in UTC (Z suffix) for when the reading applies.
Still open: Timestamps come from the Agency's own telemetry system and are not signed; how logger clocks are set or checked is not documented. Readings may arrive in late batches.
A time stated, not attested (RFC 3161, a log): Reported.
- 6. Tracked in transitNot stated
Custody record (optional field) · Not stated
- 7. Independently verifiedNot stated
Cross-check · Not stated
Still open: Nothing documented independently confirms individual readings.
- 8. Delivered to youNot stated
Delivery receipt (optional field) · Not stated
API
No account or key needed.
- base
- https:/
/ environment.data.gov.uk/ flood-monitoring - auth
- No key
- access
- Self-serve
- adapter
uk_ea_flood
- GET /
id/ stations - GET /
data/ readings - GET /
id/ stations/ {id}/ readings - GET /
id/ floods - GET /
id/ floodAreas
Rate limit. Up to 10,000 per call. No request rate published. Readings: 500 items by default, at most 10,000 via _limit; readings?latest returns every station in one call. Responses carry Cache-Control max-age=300. source
Sources
12 sources
- API reference: near real time flood warnings, flood areas, levels and flows; monitored usually every 15 minutes, transferred typically once or twice per day, more in heightened flood risk; OGL with no registration and attribution statement; no service-level guarantee, not for safety-critical use; one ?latest call every 15 minutes; caching and redirects; endpoints and filters; 500 default / 10,000 hard limit for readings, no hard limit for flood areas; readings for up to four weeks; warnings updated every 15 minutes and kept at severity 4 for about 24 hours; daily CSV archives environment.data.gov.uk
- About 1,000 telemetered tipping-bucket rain gauges, 15-minute totals, typically transferred once or twice per day; stations unnamed and located to a 100 m grid; rainfall attribution statement; reading URIs valid for 28 days environment.data.gov.uk
- UK National Tide Gauge Network, 44 locations around the UK coast, 15-minute mean sea level, latest reading typically lags 15 to 30 minutes, times in UTC; type=TideGauge filter environment.data.gov.uk
- Live keyless GET 2026-10-26 (05:00 UTC 27 Oct): 5,376 latest values, median 31 minutes old, 84% under an hour; meta version 0.9, 'Status: Beta service', OGL v3 licence; Cache-Control max-age=300 environment.data.gov.uk
- Live GET 2026-10-26: 5,539 stations; measure counts by parameter (level, rainfall, flow, wind, temperature) environment.data.gov.uk
- Live GET 2026-10-26: stations near a point in London environment.data.gov.uk
- Live GET 2026-10-26: tide gauge stations include Lerwick, Ullapool, Aberdeen, Portrush, Bangor (NI), Holyhead, Milford Haven, Port Erin and Jersey environment.data.gov.uk
- Live GET 2026-10-26: Lerwick tide gauge reading at 04:15 UTC 27 Oct environment.data.gov.uk
- Live GET 2026-10-26: 111 flood items (43 flood alerts, 13 flood warnings, 55 no longer in force) with severity and message environment.data.gov.uk
- Defra Data Services Platform terms: lawful use; content and data under the OGL unless stated; logos and trademarks exempt; feeds offered for other websites and applications environment.data.gov.uk
- OGL v3.0: worldwide, royalty-free, perpetual, non-exclusive licence to copy, adapt and exploit commercially and non-commercially, with attribution www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
- No Environment Agency MCP server in the official registry; third-party uk-flood-monitoring and floodwise servers listed registry.modelcontextprotocol.io
Notes
About. The Environment Agency's beta real-time API serves water level and flow from about 5,500 monitoring stations in England, about 1,000 rain gauges, the UK National Tide Gauge Network, and current flood alerts and warnings for England, all keyless under the Open Government Licence. Levels and flows are measured usually every 15 minutes, but the Agency says stations typically send data once or twice a day, more often when flood risk is high; on 2026-10-26 most latest readings were under an hour old.
Price. Free open data under the Open Government Licence, with no requirement for registration.
Coverage. The station list returned 5,539 stations on 2026-10-26 (5,318 level, 1,055 rainfall and 394 flow measures, plus a few wind and temperature). River, rain and groundwater stations are in England; queries around Cardiff, Aberystwyth and Glasgow found none except Newport tide gauges. The tide gauge network (the Agency says 44 locations) also covers Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and the Isle of Man; Lerwick, Portrush and Port Erin returned 04:15 UTC readings, while Jersey is listed but returned no readings. coverage.areas lists England only, since the coastal sites are a thin network. Flood warnings are the Agency's, for England. Rain gauge locations are rounded to a 100 m grid and the stations are unnamed.
Timing. Environment Agency: water levels and flows are monitored usually every 15 minutes, but data is transferred typically once or twice per day, more often during heightened flood risk; the readings set is updated every 15 minutes. Tide gauge data typically lags 15 to 30 minutes.
Licence. Open Government Licence v3.0, no registration. The OGL grants a worldwide, royalty-free, perpetual, non-exclusive licence to copy, publish, distribute, adapt and exploit the information commercially and non-commercially, on condition of attribution. The API asks for the statement 'this uses Environment Agency flood and river level data from the real-time data API (Beta)' (rainfall and tide gauge data have their own wording). The site terms say logos and trademarks are exempt from the OGL. Neither the OGL nor the site terms mention AI or machine-learning training, or resale by name.
Compiled from public sources. Is this your company? Publish your card ›
Compiled from public sources · updated 2026-10-27JSONSiteCompare